Cornell Daily Sun article

Check out this article in the Cornell Daily Sun about the campus visit of an Israeli Bedouin diplomat, a really wonderful and informative event and well reported by the Cornell Daily Sun. What I find quite fascinating about this article is not the reporting itself which is excellent, but the comments. They are so reminiscent of the type of attitude one hears amongst intelligentsia in Europe. Are these reflective of an anti-Israel bias at US Ivy League schools generally? Would such an extrapolation be accurate?

The situation in the US currently appears to me to have parallels with that I experienced in British universities in the 1990’s. Strong support for Israel is gradually overtaken by “trendy anti-Semitism”, dripping drops of poison into the climate which gradually erodes the political process. The constant drip-drip of anti-Israel bias was one of the reasons I was so happy to come to the US. I would greatly appreciate hearing from others if this perception makes any sense or not.

#Ruth

ETA I would refer anybody interested on this subject to the remarkable 2006 statement from Antony Julius and Simon Schama published in the Guardian.

To quote:

“The Palestinian cause, still less the cause of peace, is not served by promoting discrimination against Jews.”

Read the full article here.

 

2 thoughts on “Cornell Daily Sun article

  1. I went to Cornell and was an editor at the Sun … and I can safely say I never cease to be embarrassed by the comments section of articles there. I didn’t even read the comments in the article yet, but that’s just because by this point in my life I’ve learned never to read the comment sections of any internet article ever, especially if it’s a college newspaper or Gawker. (I’m not comparing those two things in any way because of course college papers offer much better coverage, but they tend to have equally judgmental and insulting comments.) And, full disclosure, I would be considered an embarrassment to Cornell in my own right because I got arrested during my senior year there … but my own past doesn’t make the tendency of others to be hateful in comments sections any less embarrassing.

    • You raise an interesting point. What can we learn from these types of comments? Free-for-all, anonymous commenting can be powerful in helping to illuminate different aspects of a complex issue, especially when there are consequences to speaking out. But it is difficult to know the relevance of comments to the broader stakeholders, and if they reflect a broader opinion without careful follow-up and analysis.

Leave a Reply

