Next up… Passover!

With Purim behind us, it’s time to think of Passover. It’s only a month away! Wait! Make that 25 days. We’ve hosted seders the last two years in a row, no small feat with an almost 3, then almost 4 year old. Both years, I made a traditional dinner of matzoh ball soup, gefilte fish, brisket, dessert–and what a dessert. Forget Passover, this was one of the best desserts I’ve had. Nut cake in soaking syrup. Not much work, and oh, so good.

Maybe Passover in Padua?

Maybe Passover in Padua?

Be that as it may, the rest of the dinner leaves me cold. Not that my soup wasn’t good. One guest told me it rivaled her Hungarian grandmother’s. Not that the brisket wasn’t good. It was, I was told, the best brisket a guest had ever had. And the dessert? I covered that already. People had seconds. And asked for the recipe. I’m either a great cook or I have the best guests in the world.

Notice I left off the gefilte fish? Is there good gefilte fish? Only the homemade version I had at a certain TBE Maven’s house. But I’m not sure I’m up to making it. Last year, I actually forgot to serve it.  No one noticed. That pretty much made up my mind.

And besides, the traditional menu does not say “spring” to me. And I want it to.

So I’m considering a non-traditional menu. How about: gazpacho, baked whole salmon, and North African goat tagine and asparagus salad?

I’m just not sure of where to get kosher goat… but I’m sure it can be had. Somewhere. Am I crazy to depart from the traditional? Or is it ok to mix it up a bit?

#Lesli

Leave a Reply

